fbpx

Paddling with Pops: Tyler and Bill’s Grand Adventure

Scroll

I first heard of the Grand Canyon as a child when my father left on yet another river trip without me. A few weeks later, a postcard arrived in the mail, “Mailed by mule from the bottom of the Grand Canyon.” I studied the elegantly flowing handwriting of my dad. He wrote of towering waves and canyon walls, of dinosaur track fossils and the oldest exposed rocks on earth. But most importantly, he wrote of the dream of one day paddling the river together.

My imagination burst at the seams, visions of a place so wondrous, so adventurous, so full of the giant whitewater and river lifestyle I had only heard stories of. The images of huge whitewater and towering canyon walls imprinted in my brain and a single resolute goal stood in my mind: one day I would paddle the Grand Canyon beside my father.

The years rolled by and my dad continued to visit the canyon from time to time without me. School always interfered. I finally graduated high school and launched a campaign to paddle the world. It was then that our opportunity finally came. A friend of my father’s pulled the sacred permit and invited us on the trip.

At the time, I was leading a paddling expedition to explore the rivers of East Africa and Madagascar. The Grand Canyon trip departed just days after my flight landed in Montana, but I didn’t hesitate to sign up. I also didn’t hesitate to invite a girl I had become smitten within the days before leaving for Africa. She accepted, and as I landed back in Montana, I had already set in place plans to trade my kayak for a raft and row the river to accommodate my passenger.

This scenario would play out again and while my father and I hiked side canyons and belly laughed on beaches, we had now done the Grand Canyon twice together without once kayaking side by side as we had dreamed of.