fbpx

Insights from China: How to Teach SUP Abroad

Scroll

I found myself on an urban paddling adventure in the ‘small’ city of Hangzhou, population eight million. The third-ranked university in China had invited me to teach SUP yoga courses and American Canoe Association (ACA) SUP Instructor Certification courses. I had never been ‘confined’ to an urban environment before. And even though I speak three languages, Chinese isn’t one of them so, for the first time ever, I had to rely on a translator. 

Have you ever dreamed of getting paid to travel the world and contribute to others by teaching your passion? I’ve been doing it for over 14 years, but my latest teaching adventure in China left me with profound insights. Here are some things I learned that may help you snag a gig teaching SUP abroad, set yourself up for success while you’re there, and recover when things don’t go as planned.

Put Yourself Out There
In the past, I assumed if I just did my thing and did it really well, opportunities would fall on my doorstep. I assumed wrong. The traveling/working gigs I’ve gotten are the result of proactive steps taken in the paddling world. For example, my first guiding gig in Mexico happened after I cold-called the owner of the rafting company and asked for a meeting.

The invitation to teach in China came at the U.S. American Canoe Association National Conference. I participated in the pre-conference L3 SUP Surf Instructor Course and Ge Wu, a Chinese paddling instructor, stood in as my practice student. After working together and showing him my Yoga for Paddling book, he asked if I would be interested in coming to his university in China to teach.