fbpx

Being a Good Boater Can Make You a Bad Boater

Scroll

This spring my younger sister told me that she and my father had signed up for a rowing clinic on the Rogue.

Wait, what?

Not gonna lie—this felt like an insult. Hey, what’s wrong with me? Hello, I’m a good rower. Me! You know… your brother. How about you save a thousand bucks and let me teach you how to row? And in some ways, this was like a double insult because I’m a teacher by profession.

To my sister’s credit, she demurred with a comment about how hard it is to learn something from “family” and then just changed the subject, after all, they had paid the fee and the deed was done.

Obviously, I haven’t let it go.

But I have decided that she’s probably right.

She and my dad will learn more at a clinic than I will be able to teach them. And between her snub and the memory of a couple of scary incidents last summer, I’ve begun to realize that becoming a good rafter has, in some ways, made me a bad rafter.

Give me the whatchamacallit!
Launch day is chaotic enough without trying to give a newbie an equipment lecture. No doubt the boat ramp is hot and other groups are waiting for you to move your boat. I have been guilty of ignoring questions about what a piece of equipment is called or how it works. I’ve let people get away with repeatedly calling “oars” “paddles” and “paddles” “oars.”  And while that distinction isn’t life or death, the difference between a throw bag and dry bag might be.

This summer I’m going to make it a point to answer more questions about gear. I’m even going to let someone else help me load and rig my boat. Securing a load so that it won’t yard sale all your gear in the event of a flip is more an art than a science and people often need to learn by doing. And while I don’t ever forget the safety talk, I’m going to make it more thorough and comprehensive.

Boy Scouts Shmoy Scouts!