fbpx

Sandbagged on the South Fork Payette

Big Falls; Photo: American Whitewater

Scroll

My boyfriend (let’s call him Mark) and I were paddling a sporty nine-foot raft down the South Fork of the Payette River in Idaho, and I was, shall I say, not too happy.

We had R2ed all over the US and had a pretty good system. To avoid any conflicts of control, he would call the paddle commands. I usually trusted him to call the right ones.

Despite Mark leading the charge, I have plenty of experience in whitewater. I guided on the Arkansas River in Colorado for five summers and a couple of summers in the Grand Canyon. Mark and I had R2ed creeky runs in the nine-footer and always had a blast. But this was different. This wasn’t what I signed up for.

Monica and ‘Mark’ R2’ing the Cheakamus River.

We’d done the Staircase section, featuring two Class IV rapids, the day before and had no problem. My kayaker friend Tom, who showed us the lines, said the Canyon section was “easier.” We should’ve known better as the only raft in a crowd of bright kayaks drew stares at the put-in for the Canyon. Our naivete would be further questioned when people asked us if we were really going to bring our dog.

Tom’s friend Carl would be accompanying us on the Canyon section. We’d met Carl the night before at a riverside campsite outside of Banks. Rafts and kayaks were strewn about the camp, as were the boaters who seemingly lived there.

Tom and Carl had just finished the iconic Class V South Fork of the Salmon a few days before. Tom had to work, but Carl said he’d show us the way down the Canyon since he was looking for a “rest day.”

Lower Half of Staircase; Photo: Thomas O’Keefe, American Whitewater

Mark and I woke early and crawled out of the back of the truck we’d been calling home for our month-long road trip through the Pacific Northwest. Soon Carl emerged from his Subaru, rubbing his eyes and yawning. He meandered over to share breakfast with us.