fbpx

The Guide’s Guide to Guide School

Scroll

Veteran raft guide Susan Hollingsworth loves teaching would-be guides her craft. Find out why, plus what she could help you learn.

Most guests just want to get splashed. They come to me for an afternoon whitewater adventure, seeking a few thrills and a taste of the Northwest’s legendary scenery. But once a year, a batch of our rafting clients at Wet Planet Whitewater ask for something more.

The intrigue of the river and rush of whitewater has struck these individuals differently than the typical first-time rafter. The mention of rafting lights up their faces. Their smiles exude eagerness. These are the guests that want to be the guide. These are my new guide school students.

As an instructor, I consider guide school an opportunity to mold eager river enthusiasts into the kind of boating partners I want with me on the water.

Unlike many guide schools throughout the country, our course is not designed to breed the upcoming season’s new crop of professional raft guides. Traveling from all over the Northwest, these students come to us to gain the confidence, technique and experience they need to lead their own trips. Some wish to incorporate whitewater into an existing outdoor education program. Some want to impress buddies with exclusive whitewater-accessed fishing holes. Others simply seek the knowledge and skills to safely take friends out on the water.