fbpx

300 Days of Paddling: A Resolution Success Story

Scroll

headshotWe all make (and break) resolutions. But last year, Unalaska local, Josh Good, resolved to paddle 300 days within the year. And he did. January is quickly disappearing, but there’s still time to make your 2016 resolutions. Learn how Josh chose a goal, stayed motivated, accomplished it and the results he ended with.

I’m a 5th grade teacher, and each January I assign my class to think of reasonable and accomplishable New Year’s Resolutions. Doing my best to provide a good example, I always participate in the assignment as well, but in the past, my resolutions have either been things I would’ve done regardless, or have gone the way of most resolutions and have been forgotten.

RIMG1891_web

For 2015, I decided to change all that and go big. I set the goal of paddling 300 days in a year. While in certain parts of the world that would be an easy feat, but an area dubbed “The Birthplace of the Winds,” Alaska’s Aleutian Islands, are where I call home. The Aleutian Islands are the historical home to some of the most accomplished kayak paddlers of all time, Native Alaskans indigenous to the area, the Unangax. Major competition. 300 days, even with 65 days off, was a lofty goal.

With 2015 behind me, here’s the good and bad, the ugly, the inspirational—the steps I took and the things I reminded myself throughout the year to motivate me to fulfill this challenging resolution.

IMGP0326_web

Make a logical, and accomplishable resolution
It began with a bit of inspiration from two friends. One was nearing completion of his 2014 resolution to run two miles or more, outside, every day of the year. Another friend who had recently borrowed one of our kayaks for an afternoon, had asked how often my wife and I used our kayaks, and my response—not often enough. So why not paddle 365 days in 2015?